GMA #1 and GMA #2. Download map:

The Texas Legislature created Groundwater Management Areas (GMAs) in 2003 with the passage of HB 1763. They were created “to provide for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of water of the groundwater, and of groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions.”

GMAs are comprised of members from groundwater conservation districts within the GMA boundaries. GMAs determine Desired Future Conditions (DFCs) for the aquifers in the regions that they serve. These DFCs are established at least once every five years. These are incorporated into the Regional Water Plan adopted by the local Regional Water Planning Group

High Plains Water District has counties in both GMA 1 and GMA 2.

Learn more about GMAs here

GMA #1 (Website)

Groundwater conservation districts within  GMA # 1

Representatives include:

Hemphill County UWCD -- Manager Janet Guthrie & Board Chairman Jim Haley
High Plains UWCD -- Manager Jason Coleman & Board President Lynn Tate                                  (Mike Beauchamp, Alternate)
North Plains GCD -- Manager Steve Walthour & Board President Bob Zimmer
Panhandle GCD -- Manager C. E. Williams & Board President Danny Hardcastle


GMA #2  (Website)

Groundwater conservation districts within GMA # 2

Representatives include: 

Garza County UWCD -- Manager Ferrel Wheeler
High Plains UWCD -- Board Member Ronnie Hopper (Brad Heffington, Alternate)
Llano Estacado UWCD -- Manager Lori Barnes & Voting Delegate (Vacant)
Mesa UWCD -- Voting Delegate Matt Farmer
Permian Basin UWCD -- Manager Donna Springer
Sandy Land UWCD -- Manager Amber Blount & Voting Delegate Ross Hilburn
South Plains UWCD -- Manager Lindy Harris & Voting Delegate Matt Hogue