Congratulations to our 2018 H2You Contest Winners!

Aubrey Schueler and Victoria Betzen of Hereford High School

Hereford H2You Contest Winners for social media.jpg

Schueler and Betzen give their presentation to judges at the HPWD office.


Scenes from the April 2018 H2You Contest Winners' Trip to Austin

Does water matter to you and your community? 

Entering the H2You contest gives students within the 16-county High Plains Underground Water Conservation District (HPWD) service area a chance to share new ideas on how to save water.

Form a Team

Each team must have two students (minimum) or four students (maximum). Team members must be high school students (grades 9 -12) and must attend school or live within the HPWD service area.  (See reference map below.)

Create a Campaign

Student teams will create a detailed water conservation campaign specifically for a water user group of their choice. An explanation for the proposed idea is required.  The campaign should encourage this particular group to conserve water.  Both a written proposal and a verbal presentation are required.

The deadline for submitting the written proposal and application will be announced in September 2018. (See rules below for more information and requirements.)

Choose a Group:

  • Agriculture: This includes farmers, ranchers, processing plants, or other agri-business.
  • Municipalities:  This includes city managers, mayors, city utilities, or other groups.
  • Local Residents:  This includes rural or urban residents within the HPWD service area.

Prizes and Recognition

First Place – Each team member receives a $250 scholarship prize and an all-expense paid trip to Austin.  The student team will present their winning water conservation proposal to their respective state legislators and/or members of the Texas Water Development Board. The team will also tour the State Capitol and the Bullock Texas State History Museum.

The winning team’s sponsor also receives a $250 prize. (Maximum of two sponsors).

The team will give their presentation to the five-member HPWD Board of Directors at one of their regular monthly meetings.

Second Place – Each team member receives a $200 scholarship prize.

Third Place – Each team member receives a $150 scholarship prize.


Winning Campaigns:

2017-2018 -- Splash To The Future by Hereford High School

2016-2017 -- Investigating Possibilities by Crosbyton High School

2015-2016-   Waste Not...Want Not by Crosbyton High School

2014-2015 -  Catch 22 by Crosbyton High School


HPWD service area shown in blue



Contest Rules

Contest Entry Form

Logo png format


Contact us for questions regarding the contest: or 806.762.0181